A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration of dindigul

Dindigul Administration

Dindigul gained the status of a municipality on 11th November, 1899 and in the year 1988, the town was given the status of a special-grade municipality. From 1988, the entire municipal area of Dindigul was controlled by the Dindigul municipality. As per the reports, the municipality will soon be upgraded to a municipal corporation.

Dindigul Municipality

There is a total of 48 wards in Dindigul municipality of Tamil Nadu. Each ward has an elected councilor. There are six departments in Dindigul municipality, and these departments are General Administration/Personal, Revenue, Engineering, Public Health, City (or Civic) Planning and Information Technology. All the six departments are directly controlled by the Municipal Commissioner of Dindigul. This Municipal Commissioner also serves as the executive head of the municipality. The legislative powers of the municipality is given on the 48 elected members from the 40 wards. This legislative body is headed by the elected Chairperson.

Dindigul Constituency

The constituency of Dindigul is known as the Dindigul Assembly Constituency and like all other constituencies of India, it elects one member to the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly in five years. In 1977 elections, All India Anna Dravid Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) won the assembly seat two times (in 1984 and 1991 elections); Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)) six times (1977, 1989, 1996, 2001, 2006 and 2011) and once by Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK, 19996). The current MLA of the Dindigul constituency is K. Balabharathi from CPI(M) party. Dindigul is also a part of the Dindigul Lok Sabha Constituency and the Member of Parliament is elected once in every five years. The constituency was held by the Indian National Congress four times (in 1957, 1962, 2004 and 2009 elections), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) three times (in 1967, 1971 and 1980 elections), Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (ADMK) for six times (in 1977, 1984, 1989, 1991, 1998 and 1999 elections) and by Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) once (in the1996 elections).

Police Administration in Dindigul

The Tamil Nadu State Police has a sub-division named as the Dindigul Sub-Division. This sub-division is headed by a Deputy Superintendent. There is three police stations in Dindigul and one of these police stations is an all women police station. The Dindigul Police Department has several sub-divisions and special units in them, like the prohibition enforcement division, social justice and human rights division, district crime division, district crime records division and one special branch.

Dindigul Administration

Courts in Dindigul

Dindigul has a subordinate court under Madurai bench with the Principal Judge heading the proceedings.

Principal District Judge:
Thiru. V. Balasundarakumar
Additional District Judge: Tmt. P. Murugambal
Session Judge: Mahalir Neethi Mandram:' Thiru. N. Sivakumar

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries